3 Pumpkin Recipes in 1!

Greetings! It’s that time of year again… PUMPKIN SEASON! I don’t know about you, but I can’t seem to get enough of Pumpkin. I starting pinning Pumpkin recipes on Pinterest back in, oh I don’t know… June maybe?!

I had my first Pumpkin Coffee on September 1st (before Labor Day!) in the form of an iced coffee…

Medium Pumpkin Iced Coffee with just cream. Follow me on Instagram! @jmshuhart

I had a Pumpkin Pie smoothie around mid-September.

This was like a liquid pumpkin pie. And amazing. Another Pinterest find, find the recipe on my Pinterest board!

I bought a Pumpkin Pancake Mix at the beginning of October (though have yet to use it).

Pancake Mix from Target

And now, it’s time to get baking. Quick side note… Just because you find great Pumpkin recipes back in June, doesn’t mean you can actually make them until the cold weather hits. I don’t know if it was just me or what, but I began the itch to really make something pumpkin around August & I couldn’t find canned pumpking ANYWHERE! I checked my local supermarkets, the big box chain stores, everything. I get not being able to find Pumpkin Pie filling in the Summer, but I should be able to find solid pumpkin anytime. Apparently not. It finally showed up in the baking section around mid-September. I’ll be sure to stock up on it after the holidays this year, before it all disappears again!

So as you know, I began my Pumpkin pinning somewhere around June. One of the recipes that I found was right up my alley. Two Ingredient Pumpkin Muffins?! Count me in! I took the basic idea & expanded on it just a touch. And somewhere along the way, realized I had 3 recipes in 1! My friends, I’d like to introduce you to the 3 in 1 Pumpkin Muffins/Cupcakes/wait for it… dip! Here goes…

So instead of keeping it simple with 2 ingredients, I had to complicate things & make it 5 ingredients. And actually, for you… I’d say make it 6. But I couldn’t find the nutmeg. So, warm up your oven to 350 degrees & gather all of your ingredients*.

1 White cake mix, ground ginger, cloves, cinnamon (& nutmeg! I was out) & a *15oz can of pumpkin (pay no attention that mine is a 29 oz can!)

Take everything & mix it into a bowl… (I know – rocket science).

I would also suggest… hmm… maybe a tsp of nutmeg. I’m really not a measurer with this type of stuff, so use all of the spices as you wish!

Take a look around your kitchen to see if you have any helpers. I did. Though she wasn’t interested in being photographed. I’m thinking it’s because every so often, we do give her a little pumpkin with her food, it’s good for the digestive system, and chock full of nutrients. Just a little bit. Teaspoon or so.

My sweet Pippa…

Okay, are you ready?! Here’s your FIRST of THREE recipes. This one was actually by accident. So, I had enough batter (which is pretty dense, by the way) to make about 13-14 cupcakes. Well, I’m not going to stick another batch in the oven for 1-2 cupcakes. So I filled them up just a little bit more & then I had a little left over… so I ate it off the spoon! That’s when I realized, it would make an awesome “cake batter dip” with animal crackers! I’ve made this dip before with funfettie cake mix, yogurt & cool whip.. So why not this version? With pumpkin, spices & cake mix – there’s nothing that will harm you by eating it raw… and it’s delicious… so why not?! My friends – Pumpkin Cake Batter Dip! Item 1 of 3 from 1 single recipe.

Delicious with animal crackers at your next Halloween, Thanksgiving, or fall-festive type party!

Pumpkin Cake Batter Dip not your thing? Time to move on. Add your mixture into a muffin/cupcake tin & let them bake for 20-26 minutes. Just keep an eye on them, all ovens bake differently. Mine went for 24 minutes. To check them, insert a toothpick. If it comes out clean, they’re done.

World’s worst cupcake tin filler…

Okay. So, once they’re out of the oven, you have your SECOND item from the 3 in 1 recipe… Pumpkin Cake Batter Muffins!

Mmmm… they smell so good!

 Remove them from the cupcake tin & let them cool. And my friends, you have your muffins. So good! They are a bit dense, but delicious none the less.

 Of course, there is still recipe #3 to get to… CUPCAKES! I was on the fence about whether or not I wanted to frost them, as they were pretty delicious as is, and not terribly unhealthy (for a dozen, they come in around 175 calories each. Better than a 500 calorie muffin!). But – after posting on facebook (“to frost, or not to frost?”), I realized that anything goes better with frosting. And so, we now have CUPCAKES! 

Because everything tastes better with frosting!

Simply frost your “dense muffins” to turn them into cupcakes using your favorite Cream Cheese Frosting recipe. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon on each cupcake & “fancily” frosted them. I was too lazy to get the piping bag & tips out since these were just “regular cupcakes” & not necessarily for show (I didn’t think I’d follow through on posting the blog! haha), so I just put my frosting in a sandwich bag & cut the corner off & frosted them that way.

I’m certain there are PLENTY of ways to change up this recipe to make it your own, just as I did with the original 2 ingredient recipe! I think next time I will add some chocolate chips, I bet they would be delicious! I truly think that my favorite part of this recipe is that it’s one SIMPLE recipe that makes 3 different things. As long as you can remember the box of cake mix & a can of pumpkin, you’re good to go. Add in those pumpkin pie spices (they’re usually listed on the back of the can for pumpkin pie already, if you can’t remember) & you’re golden! And if you want to make the cupcake version & you want to continue with the “easy” & “simple” theme, just use my version of Cream Cheese frosting…

Ain’t no shame in my game!

QUESTION: What’s your favorite way to enjoy pumpkin? Do you like pumpkin throughout the year, or do you just enjoy it during the fall?

SHARE: Did you make this recipe? How did you like it? Did you make the cake batter dip, muffins or cupcakes? What changes did you make? I’d love to hear your version!

About trailmixdiaries

I'm just a girl in my 20's living this thing we call life... come here for a little bit of everything - Family, Friends, Outdoors, Crafts, Cooking, Baking, Fitness, Decorating, DIY, & more... A true Trail Mix, if you will. The Trail Mix Diaries.

Leave a Reply

